Running Specific Test Suites or Categories in JUnit

JUnit is a popular unit testing framework for Java applications that allows developers to write and run tests to verify the correctness of their code. In addition to running individual test cases, JUnit provides features to group tests into test suites or categories, making it easier to organize and execute tests based on specific criteria.

Creating Test Suites

A test suite in JUnit is a collection of test cases that can be executed together. It provides a way to run multiple test classes or methods as a single unit, allowing you to structure and organize your tests effectively. Here's how you can create a test suite in JUnit:

  1. Create a new Java class for your test suite, let's say TestSuite.

    import org.junit.runner.RunWith;
    import org.junit.runners.Suite;
    public class TestSuite {
  2. Use the @RunWith annotation to specify the test runner for the test suite. In this case, we are using the Suite runner provided by JUnit.
  3. Use the @Suite.SuiteClasses annotation to list the test classes that should be included in the test suite.

Now, you can run the TestSuite class, and all the test cases in the specified test classes will be executed together as a single unit.

Running Tests Based on Categories

JUnit also provides the concept of test categories, which allows you to group tests based on certain criteria, such as functionality or importance. Test categories provide a way to selectively run tests that belong to a specific category or exclude tests from certain categories. Here's how you can use test categories in JUnit:

  1. Define a test category marker interface or annotation. For example, let's create an annotation FastTests to mark tests that are expected to execute quickly.

    import org.junit.jupiter.api.Tag;
    import java.lang.annotation.Retention;
    import java.lang.annotation.RetentionPolicy;
    public @interface FastTests {
  2. Annotate the relevant test methods or classes with the defined category annotation.

    import org.junit.jupiter.api.Test;
    public class MyTestClass {
        public void fastTest1() {
            // ...
        public void normalTest() {
            // ...
        public void fastTest2() {
            // ...
  3. To run tests belonging to a specific category, you can use the --include-tag option with the JUnit launcher from the command line:

    java -jar junit-platform-console-standalone.jar --include-tag=FastTests

    This command will only execute the tests that are marked with the FastTests annotation.

  4. Conversely, you can exclude tests belonging to a specific category using the --exclude-tag option:

    java -jar junit-platform-console-standalone.jar --exclude-tag=SlowTests

    This command will exclude any tests that are marked with the SlowTests annotation.

By using test suites and categories, you can customize which tests to run based on your requirements, saving time and resources during the testing process.


JUnit provides powerful features for running specific test suites or categories. Test suites enable grouping multiple test classes or methods into a single unit, allowing you to execute them together seamlessly. Test categories, on the other hand, provide the capability to select or exclude tests based on specified criteria. By leveraging these features, you can efficiently organize and execute your tests, ensuring the quality and reliability of your Java applications.

© NoobToMaster - A 10xcoder company